Wednesday, February 16, 2011

My Schedule as a Working Mom (w/ an 11 month old)

The last time I did a schedule post, I was a stay-at-home-mom with a 5 month old. Days are different now so I thought I would follow up with another schedule post. This is just my typical schedule pattern, and the exact time definitely varies from day to day!

5:45am – I wake up, let the dogs out, and pump. I wash pump parts, fill up the dogs’ food and water bowls, and unload the dishwasher. On days when I am running late, I may skip the latter two and hubby does them.

6:25am – I head upstairs to get ready for work.

6:45am – Anna wakes up. I pick her up from the crib. We go downstairs. I change and dress her for the day.

(Recently, Anna has been waking up between 6:25 – 6:45am. So, sometimes she may watch me get ready for work. Sometimes, she wakes up even earlier, while I am still pumping…in that case, hubby picks her up and changes her and entertains her until Grandma arrives.)

6:50 - 7:00am – Grandma arrives and takes over! I eat breakfast (milk and cereal) and pack lunch. I may brush Pargo, take stuff out from the freezer to defrost for dinner, and few other things, but it all depends on how much time I have.

By 7:15am – I kiss Anna & hubby and leave for work.

7:25 – 7:45am – Arrive to work. Time to relax!! :) (I may have busy days, but for the most part, work is easy and undemanding. I am lucky to have a good work situation and I definitely don’t think that I could handle being a working mom as well if I had a stressful job. I won't lie - I enjoy my daily escape into the adult world.)

8 hours later….

3:30 – 4:00pm – Home! Change out of work clothes and ask Grandma about the day. Occasionally, when hubby works from home* and has no meetings scheduled, Grandma leaves before I get home. The baby may still be taking her second nap at this point, but will wakes up shortly. When she wakes up, I change her.

4:15pm – Start dinner. Baby and I hang out in the kitchen together. Hubby pops in every now and then (when not working) and makes Anna laugh. (We eat very simple meals on the weekdays. On most days, Grandma cooks a vegetable dish for us so all I do is cook rice and a meat/fish dish. I do make soup, too, and it lasts for 2-3 days.)

4:30 – 5:00pm – Dinner. We put Anna in her Bumbo and eat dinner together. Sometimes I give her a bottle.

By 5:30pm – Dinner doesn’t take long to eat and clean up is usually easy too.

5:30 – 7:00pm – Playtime with Anna! We play on the piano, read books, spend time on the floor, give the dogs attention, sometimes a bath, and a million of other things. Hubby takes the dogs and trash out. Each day is different. I do my best to keep the TV and computers off during this time. Around 6:45pm, if it isn’t a bath night, I change her into PJs, wipe her face and teeth.

7:00pm – I head upstairs with Anna and give her a bottle. She doesn’t fall asleep at the bottle anymore so I hold her a bit before kissing her and putting her in the crib.

7:15 – 9:30pm – FREE TIME! I shower, pump, watch TV (although rarely pay attention), hang out with hubby, browse, edit/sort pictures, tidy & clean a bit, and other random things. I may snack.

9:30pm – I get myself ready for bed. Browse a bit more. Read magazines.

By 10:00pm – I crash into bed.

*Husband works, but frequently from home. On days when he does go out, he is still usually back by 3:30pm. Although, sometimes, he can be in the basement, on conference calls, until 5pm. When that’s the case, we eat dinner later and I play with Anna before dinner. Sometimes he has no calls scheduled and we all hang out the minute I get home. It's great when we get to do that!

3 comments:

  1. Not bad. Once you stop pumping, you can wake up later and have even more free time at night.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Without enough hours in the day, time is flying by...Just glad we have this little bloggy to capture the little moments of life...

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sounds like a rather pleasant rhythm...

    ...and then you have weekend escapes!

    ReplyDelete